Robinhood adds trading of Bitcoin and other Cryptocurrencies

Robinhood is a popular phone app providing stock trading with $0 fees. It has announced that it will be adding 16 cryptocurrencies to its watchlist, allowing investors to monitor them immediately with the ablility to trade the currencies starting in February with Bitcoin and Ethereum. Trading will only be available to residents of California, Massachusetts, Missouri, Montana, and New Hampshire at first but more states and currencies will be rolling out soon. The list of the 16 currencies is as follows:

  • Bitcoin
  • Ethereum
  • Bitcoin Cash
  • Litecoin
  • XRP
  • Ethereum Classic
  • Zcash
  • Monero
  • Dash
  • Stellar
  • Qtum
  • Bitcoin Gold
  • OmiseGo
  • NEO
  • Lisk
  • Dogecoin

Robinhood says that bank transfers up to $1,000 will be available instantly with the remainder coming in through the normal ACH process, and like the rest of their platform, trades will have $0 commission. Neither of these features are available on any other current U.S. exchange.

Sign up for early access HERE

Read more on Robinhood’s blog post HERE